frome-elect-boundary-thumbThe Frome Electorate is named after Edward Charles Frome, the third surveyor-general of South Australia. Captain E C Frome (1802-1890) arrived in the Province September 1839 and was appointed by Governor Gawler to the Executive Council. He was the third Surveyor-General after Light and Sturt and made a notable contribution to the development of the colony, including early surveys of the South Flinders Ranges near Pt Pirie.

The Frome Electorate covers an area from the industrial city of Port Pirie to the viticultural areas of Clare and surrounds. The district covers a total of 6,889.7 km? and includes extensive mixed grain and livestock farming in addition to the grape growing area of the Clare valley, and the seaside and holiday town of Pt Broughton.

Five Council districts form part of the Frome Electorate, namely Port Pirie Regional Council, Northern Areas Council, District Council of Barunga West, Clare & Gilbert Valley Council and the Wakefield Regional Council.

The area could be described as a combination of Mid-North and Upper Yorke Peninsula districts.

The townships of Auburn, Alford, Balaklava, Brinkworth, Blyth, Bute, Caltowie, Clare, Crystal Brook, Fishermans Bay, Gladstone, Georgetown, Gulnare, Hoyleton, Koolunga, Laura, Lochiel, Leasingham, Manoora, Marrabel, Mintaro, Mundoora, Penwortham, Port Broughton, Port Pirie, Redhill, Riverton, Saddleworth, Sevenhill, Snowtown, Tarlee, Tickera, Wanderah, Watervale and Yacka all are found in the Frome Electorate.

Click Here for a map of the Frome Electorate!

Click Here for a map of South Australian Country Electoral Boundaries!

Further information can be found at:




Please contact me by using theContact pageor by phoning the Frome Electorate Office (within business hours) on 08 8633 1210 to voice your ideas, your concerns or if you have any other feedback or inquiries.

Electorate Office

Shop C Ellen Centre Port Pirie
PO Box 519 Port Pirie SA 5540
Phone: 8633 1210 Fax: 8633 1758
Email: fromeATparliament.sa.gov.au
(replace the AT with @ in email)

Facebook and Twitter
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Twitter